Pheasants

A few years ago, I decided to compete in the pheasant stamp design contest held annually by the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources. The winner of the contest has their design made into a stamp which is sold to pheasant hunters. There are corresponding contests for turkey and duck stamps.

The first year I competed, I used a photo I had taken of a ringneck pheasant at the Oklahoma City zoo. It took fifth place! I got a certificate and everything!

91CDA495-DCE4-457B-AF4E-03C4D41731B4

That year, I took a photo of a taxidermy pheasant owned by the DNR. While I was photographing it, the camera did not adjust quickly enough to the strange lighting conditions, and I got quite a unique photograph! I decided to turn it into a drawing, which I submitted for the next contest. I did not expect to win because I have seen photographs of previous year’s winners, and my art does not look like those. In fact, part of the reason I submitted this drawing was to suggest to the judges that there exist other suitable styles! Surprisingly, I took second place and my piece was put on display for 10 days at the state fair!

It’s been a few years, but I have not yet drawn another pheasant. They are SO detailed!  Still, I have dreams of entering all three contests in the future!

Leave a comment